Website vs. Database
Many journals and magazines now have websites that include additional information and media. Information contained on a publication's website can vary significantly from the content contained in the printed journal. Columbus State Community College library subscribes to all of the publications listed on this page, so you can access both web and subscription content for free.
Organization: Structured to facilitate information retrieval.
Access: Full-text articles, images, graphs, datasets, and more.
Scope: It varies by publication. Generally a minimum of 5-10 years worth of material.
Content: Premium content published for subscribers, including featured articles and commentary.
Stability: Content is fixed and archived using persistent links.
Organization: Structured to facilitate leisurely browsing.
Access: May only include a table of contents or a limited number of articles.
Scope: Articles may only be available for the most current issue.
Content: Web-only content. Subscription content may not be available.
Stability: Content changes rapidly and information disappears from the site.
Access the latest issue of Science, including Science Careers and the weekly Science podcast. This app must be accessed on campus using CSCC WiFi to read full-text articles.
FREE: iPhone, iPad, Android
||New England Journal of Medicine
Access peer-reviewed research articles, images, audio summaries of clinical practice articles, and streaming procedural videos in clinical medicine. Note: Multimedia features cannot be accessed over 3G or 4G.
FREE: iPhone, iPad
Browse the current issue of the peer-reviewed publication of the American College of Chest Physicians optimized for iOS devices. This app must be accessed on campus using CSCC WiFi to read full-text articles.
FREE: iPhone, iPad
Web Content Optimized for Smartphones
Stay current on breaking U.S. and international political news. Time provides reviews and commentary in the domains of business, technology, science, health, and entertainment.
A news publication with coverage of international politics, travel, weather, entertainment, sports, and technology. It also contains editorials and opinions regarding some of the most salient debates in the media.
Do you want to remain on top of current developments in the business sector? This site contains information on the stock market and commodity prices, as well as contributed columns on investing, entrepreneurship, leadership, and technological change that is driving the marketplace and reshaping business practices.
Publishes up-to-the-minute sporting news, real-time scores, team schedules, and analysis of player performance and team decision-making. This site contains many photographs and video interviews of teams, coaches, analysts, and athletes.
Privacy & Confidentiality StatementLibrary Code of Conduct