All of the Columbus State Library's databases can be accessed online! This means that you will have access to all of them at the Dublin RLC! If you are using a database off-campus, you will need to login using your standard Columbus State credentials.
Databases are where you can find articles from academic journals, magazines, newspapers, and more. Databases are excellent tools to use to find reliable, scholarly sources for your assignments!
Learning how to use and search databases can be tricky, especially if it is your first time! But never fear, librarians can help you with any and all questions that you may have!
Use Google Scholar for a preliminary search. Don't forget to check the library and library databases for titles you may find through Google Scholar! Many scholarly works still remain unavailable on the web.
Article databases provide you with 24-7 access to magazine, journal, and newspaper articles via the Internet. To help you identify the most appropriate database for your topic/subject:
Staring your search with Academic Search Complete (which can be found at the top of the Databases page) is also a good idea, as this database covers all academic areas of study!
Index, abstracts, and full text articles for many scholarly publications covering all academic areas of study.
Using the New Academic Search Complete (YouTube)
Explores in depth a single "hot" topic in the news each week, ranging from teen issues, to the environment, to health and education, to science and technology.
How to Use Issues & Controversies (YouTube)
