Library: ENGL 2270: Introduction to Folklore: Find Web Sources

Websites

American Folklore Society
The American Folklore Society is an association of folklorists: people who study and communicate knowledge about folklore throughout the world.

This website also provides information about local community events in the field of folklore studies.

The American Folklife Center at the Library of Congress
"The American Folklife Center was created in 1976 by the U.S. Congress to "preserve and present American folklife" through programs of research, documentation, archival preservation, reference service, live performance, exhibitions, publications, and training. Designated by the U.S. Congress as the national center for folklife documentation and research, the American Folklife Center continues to collect and document living traditional culture, while preserving for the future its unparalleled collections in the state-of-the-art preservation facilities of the Library of Congress."

Folkstreams
"A national preserve of documentary films about American Roots Cultures
streamed with essays about the traditions and filmmaking. The site includes transcriptions, study and teaching guides, suggested readings, and links to related websites."

Smithsonian Center for Folklife and Cultural Heritage
"The Smithsonian Center for Folklife and Cultural Heritage is dedicated to the collaborative research, presentation, conservation, and continuity of traditional knowledge and artistry with diverse contemporary cultural communities in the United States and around the world."

Folklife Today
The Folklife Today blog, hosted by The Library of Congress, provides "songs, stories, traditional arts, cultural expressions, and oral histories of people from all over the country and the world" to people interested in folklore, folklife and oral history. They feature articles on collections from across the globe.

The James T. Callow Folklore Archive
The online Folklore Archive is searchable by text, title, keyword, location, subject and Boggs number and contains such subjects as: urban legends, ethnic jokes, songs from fraternities, sororities, and scouts, drinking games, graffiti, initiation pranks, superstitions, gestures, riddles, proverbs, customs, festivals and elder lore.