What Is a Citation Generator?
Citation generators use online forms to create a citation in various formats such as MLA, APA, Chicago, and more.The researcher types the bibliographic data into the form and the site generates a citation in the format requested.
Some citation generators display the citation on the screen, but don't save the citation. Others sites offer some citation management services, such as saving your citations, and organizing files, folders, and citations as you perform your research.
Citation Generators in Subscription Databases
Not every database will generate a citation. Most will provide you with the information you need to format the citation yourself. If the database you are using provides a citation, you can print it or copy the citation and paste it into a Word document. Double check any citation generator, even the ones found in databases- errors can occur.
Some will also allow you to export the bibliographic information directly into citation software such as Zotero (See the box in the right side column, "Free Online Citation Generators").
You are responsible for citing your sources accurately. Citations you find in a database may or may not be accurate. Double-check the citation using the APA Publication Manual or use examples published in this LibGuide.
Here are a few databases that provide citations:
Academic Search Complete
For Academic Search Complete and other EBSCO databases, determine the article you want to cite then click on the title of the article. On the right sidebar, click on "Print", then select "Citation Format". After scrolling to the appropriate format, click the "Print" button. You can also highlight the citation, copy it, and paste it into a Word document for use later on your Reference List.
Select the article you want to cite. Click "CiteNow!" on the header of the article. A new window opens allowing you to select the citation format and display it in the format you choose.
Electronic Journal Center
For the Electronic Journal Center (EJC), determine the article you want to cite and click on the title. On the right hand side of the page click "Download Citation," then select the appropriate format. Click "Ok" and the citation should appear in your downloads folder.
Double-Check for Accuracy!
YOU are responsible for the accuracy of your citations. Citation Generators are convenient to use, but may not always be accurate.
Refer to the following CSCC Library Quick Guides for additional assistance with APA citations. Use these guides to double-check the accuracy of citations generated by database and online generators.
Microsoft Office Word 2013
In your Microsoft Office Word document:
- Select the "References" tab.
- Select "Citations & Bibliography."
- Select "Style" from a drop-down menu. Choose the appropriate citation format.
- Click "Insert Citation." Select "Add New Source". A form allows you to type in your bibliographic data. Click on "OK" to insert an in-text citation.
- Click on "Bibliography". Click on "Works Cited" to insert the citation into your Reference List.
Free Online Citation Generators
There are a number of web sites that will help you format your citations in APA style. You should always double-check the results you get, as the results are good places to start but not always correct.
Uses a web form to generate citations in MLA, APA, Chicago and Turabian formats.
Maintained by the Hekman Library at Calvin College in Michigan, this site generates citations in MLA, APA and Chicago formats.
Generates citations and title pages in MLA, APA and Chicago formats. When typing bibliographic information into the form, elements of the citation are underlined in red and provide "pop-up" tips for what to include in that element. Provides additional information on using APA Style.
This free Reference Manager software must be downloaded to your computer. It not only generates citations, but allows the researcher to download and annotate research and work collaboratively with other researchers. Citations are generated using Citation Style Language (CSL) which is an open-source, community-based product compatible with hundreds of citation formats. Based in the U.K.
Free Reference Management Software that must be downloaded to your computer. Like Mendeley, it allows the researcher to collect, organize, cite and collaborate on research. Citations are generated using Citation Style Language (CSL) which is an open-source, community-based product compatible with hundreds of citation formats.
Privacy & Confidentiality StatementLibrary Code of Conduct