Library: ENGL 2281: African American Literature: Slave Narratives

Books at the Library

African Americans in the Colonial era : from African origins through the American Revolution by Donald R Wright
Call Number: Online Access
Publication Date: 2017
Jefferson's Muslim Fugitives by Jeffrey Einboden
Call Number: Online Access
Publication Date: 2020
Narrative of the Life of Frederick Douglas by Frederick Douglass
Call Number: 973.8092 D737na
Publication Date: 2013
The Odyssey of an African Slave by Sitiki
Call Number: 306.362 S6236o
Publication Date: 2009
The Slave Narrative by Kimberly Drake
Call Number: Online Access
Publication Date: 2014
Slave Narratives
Call Number: Online Access
Publication Date: 2000
Slavery and Class in the American South by William L. Andrews
Call Number: Online Access
Publication Date: 2019
The Sounds of Slavery : Discovering African American History through Songs, Sermons, and Speech by Shane White and Graham White
Call Number: 973.0496073 W588s
Publication Date: 2005
Where is all my Relation?:The Poetics of Dave the Potter by Michael A. Chaney
Call Number: Online Access
Publication Date: 2018

Library of Congress's American Memory

The Library of Congress's American Memory historical collections have numerous primary texts, images, maps, and sound recordings on African-American history and slavery.

Born in Slavery: Slave Narratives from the Federal Writers' Project, 1936-1938
Read first-hand accounts of slavery and view 500 black and white photographs of former slaves.
From Slavery to Freedom: The African-American Pamphlet Collection, 1822-1909
Access pamphlets written by African-American authors and others on slavery, colonization, emancipation, and reconstruction.
Slaves and the Courts, 1740-1860
The documents in this collection "comprise an assortment of trials and cases, reports, arguments, accounts, examinations of cases and decisions, proceedings, journals, a letter, and other works of historical importance."
The Frederick Douglass Papers
The papers in this collection "reveal Douglass' interest in diverse subjects such as politics, emancipation, racial prejudice, women's suffrage, and prison reform."

Videos at the Library

Slavery and the Making of America
Call Number: DVD 306.362 S631812
Underground Railroad
Call Number: DVD 973.7115 U552

Spotlight: African American Lives

Explore Dr. Henry Louis Gates' series in which he researches the ancestry of famous African-American individuals. Site contains videos, timelines, and information on genealogical research.

African American Lives

Online Resources

In Motion: The African-American Migration Experience
Explores African-American history as it pertains to migration, from the Trans-Atlantic Slave Trade, runaway journeys, and domestic slave trade to the Western, Northern, and Great Migration.
Voyages: The Trans-Atlantic Slave Trade Database
Explore different regions of the trans-Atlantic slave trade. Database contains tables, charts, maps, and estimates of the slave trade. Search the African Names Database, which contains the names of 67,000 Africans aboard slave ships.
The Atlantic Slave Trade and Slave Life in the Americas
Contains 1,280 images arranged in different categories, such as Pre-Colonial Africa: Society, Polity, Culture; Slave Ships & the Atlantic Crossing (Middle Passage); and Plantation Scenes, Slave Settlements & Houses.