Library: Paralegal Studies: Remote Instruction Resources: Library Resources

Have a Suggestion?

Have a book, journal, or database request? Please reach out to our library staff with recommendations at the reference email.

Legal Databases

The research databases below contain numerous resources for students conducting legal research or searching for court cases:

Nexis Uni
Provides news, cases, law reviews, company profiles, and other full-text articles. Also includes the LexisNexis Company Dossier module.
Legal Collection
Search for full-text articles from law journals and case studies.
GPO Monthly Catalog
Contains government documents, congressional reports and hearings to judicial materials, from 1976 to today.

Oxford Reference--Law
Access numerous law dictionaries and encyclopedias.

Basic Legal Writing for Paralegals by Hope Viner Samborn
Publication Date: Sixth edition [2020]
Basic Legal Writing for Paralegals teaches the skills one needs to effectively work with cases, legal authorities, documents, and professional correspondence.
Concise Guide to Paralegal Ethics by Therese A. Cannon; Sybil Taylor Aytch
Publication Date: 2018
"Clearly written, and replete with design elements that facilitate study and review, the Concise Guide to Paralegal Ethics provides succinct coverage that focuses on the professional paralegal."
Legal Research: How to Find and Understand the Law by Editors of Nolo
Publication Date: 19th edition [2021]
Legal Research shows you how to find statutes, cases, background information, and answers to specific legal questions online.
Equal Justice: Fair legal systems in an unfair world by Frederick Wilmot-Smith
Publication Date: 2019
"It cannot be fair that wealthy people enjoy better legal outcomes. That is why Frederick Wilmot-Smith argues that justice requires equal access to legal resources."
Law Office Management for Paralegals by Laurel A. Vietzen
Publication Date: 2019
"Well-crafted assignments throughout the text help students hone practical skills such as critical thinking, organization, general communication, and computer proficiency. The text is particularly adaptable for an online or hybrid class."

Reference Shelf: Internet Law by HW Wilson
Call Number: 343.73099 I61923
Publication Date: 2020
"This issue of Reference Shelf explores evolving cyberlaw pertaining to such issues as data privacy, freedom of expression, intellectual property, e-commerce, and contract law."

Legal Reference Books

The majority of legal reference books are located on the 3rd floor of the library on the Columbus Campus. Note that the reference titles below are for in-library use:

Ohio Jurisprudence, 3d
Call Number: Ref 340.09771 O37 3d
West's Ohio Digest: Covering Cases from State and Federal Courts
Call Number: Ref 345.52 W538
Ohio Code Research Guide
Call Number: Ref 340.09771 O372
Ohio Rules of Court: Federal
Call Number: Ref 347.771 O37 Federal
Ohio Rules of Court: State
Call Number: Ref 347.771 O37 State
American Law Reports. ALR 4th: Cases and Annotations
Call Number: 348.7346 A512
West's North Eastern Reporter
Call Number: Ref 348.73 W538
Library has from 1936 to Oct. 3, 2012 (vol. 97.3)

Print Periodicals

Browse these legal journals and magazines on the third floor of the library.

ABA Journal
Facts & Findings
Journal of Criminal Law and Criminology
National Law Journal
National Paralegal Reporter
Paralegal Today
v. 29 (2012) to v. 34 (2017), Note: ceased publication December, 2017.

Electronic Journal Center

The EJC contains an extensive number of law journals. Here is a list of select titles:

Electronic Journal Center
Full text of 11000+ research journals.