Library: Sociology: Articles

Electronic Journals and Reference Titles

You can search the following databases for academic journal articles or short informational pieces.

SocINDEX with Full Text
Index, abstracts, and full text for articles and other publications in sociology.
Sociological Collection
A comprehensive database with complete full-text articles from more than 500 major sociology journals on topics such as culture, community development, and social structure.
Oxford Reference Social Sciences
Reference books about the social sciences.
Sage Data (was Data Planet Foundations)
Explore a currated collection of U.S. and international statistics. With this dynamic tool, you can scan and search the contents of billions of datasets, compare and contrast variables of interest, and create customized views in tables, maps, rankings, and charts.
Academic Search Complete
Index, abstracts, and full text articles for many scholarly publications covering all academic areas of study.
Using Academic Search Complete (YouTube)
Electronic Journal Center
Full text of 11000+ research journals.

Check Your Spelling

Proper spelling is critical when using a library database. A simple spelling error will cause your search terms not to be found.

The Database Doesn't Have Full Text for My Article. Now What?

During your search, you may encounter times when the full text (PDF or HTML) of an article is not available in the database. Follow these steps to see how you may locate an electronic or print version of your article:

If PDF and HTML full text are unavailable, click in certain databases to locate print copies in Columbus State's library or electronic copies in another database, such as the Electronic Journal Center.
If you know the name of the journal in which the article appears, search the eResource Lookup to see if the journal is available online in one of the research databases.
If the article is not available at Columbus State's library or electronically through the research databases, search the OhioLINK catalog for print holdings at nearby college or university libraries.