Library: Autism: Find Articles

Keywords for Researching

Use the following keyword searches in the library catalog, databases and online journals to find relevant information related to Autism and Autism Spectrum Disorder:

Autism
Autism Spectrum
Asperger Syndrome
Developmental Disabilities
Special Education
Autism and Higher Education
Autism and College

Journals

Search the following online journals and magazines with key words for articles related to your topic. When accessing the databases and journals from off-campus, you will need to sign in with your NAME and COUGAR ID.

Autism Research
02/01/2008 - present
The Journal focuses on basic genetic, neurobiological and psychological mechanisms and how these influence developmental processes in ASDs.
Peer Reviewed: Yes

Focus on Autism and Development Research
03/01/1996 to present
Practical & utilitarian articles on curriculum, instructional methods,behavior management, assessment/evaluation, medical interventions and staff development for professionals in this field.
Peer Reviewed: Yes

Journal of Autism and Developmental Disorders
09/01/1993 to present (with a 12 Month delay)
Original research, theoretical papers, critical reviews and brief reports on severe psychopathologies in childhood, not necessarily limited to autism and childhood schizophrenia.
Peer Reviewed: Yes

Research in Autism Spectrum Disorders
01/01/2007 - present
This journal publishes high quality empirical articles and reviews that contribute to a better understanding of Autism Spectrum Disorders (ASD) at all levels of description; genetic, neurobiological, cognitive, and behavioral.
Peer Reviewed: No

Autism: The International Journal of Research and Practice
0701/1997 - present
Providing research of direct and practical relevance to help improve the quality of life for individuals with autism or autism-related disorders.
Peer Reviewed: Yes

Disability & Society
03/01/1986 - present
Previously: Disability, Handicap & Society (1986 - 1993)

Provides a focus for debate about such issues as human rights, discrimination, definitions, policy, & practices.
Peer Reviewed: Yes

Exceptional Parent
02/01/1998 - present
Aimed at parents and families with children or adolescents with disabilities, information on practical experience in handling the everyday problems of life with an exceptional child or adolescent, resources, new technology and recent developments.
Peer Reviewed: No

Chronicle of Higher Education
News and trends, legislation, meetings, seminars, workshops for higher education administrators, faculty members, researchers & scholars.

This title is also available in print at the CS Library.

Databases

Search the following research databases for articles from scholarly journals, magazines, and conference papers. When accessing the databases and journals from off-campus, you will need to sign in with your Blackboard username and password.

Academic Search Complete
Index, abstracts, and full text articles for many scholarly publications covering all academic areas of study.
Using Academic Search Complete (YouTube)
Education Full Text
Index, abstracts, and full text covering contemporary education issues.
Education Research Complete
Index, abstracts and full text of articles and other publications in education research.
ERIC
Educational Resources Information Center. EBSCOhost Interface. Index and abstracts of articles, books, and documents covering education research and practice.
MEDLINE with Full Text
A comprehensive index for medical journals and provides full text for more than 1,370 journals.
Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection
Index, abstracts, and full text covering topics such as emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry and psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational and experimental methods.
APA PsycINFO
Abstracts and citations to the scholarly literature in the psychological, social, behavioral, and health sciences.
SocINDEX with Full Text
Index, abstracts, and full text for articles and other publications in sociology.
Sociological Collection
A comprehensive database with complete full-text articles from more than 500 major sociology journals on topics such as culture, community development, and social structure.