Geography: Find Articles

Refer to the following Library Quick Guides to get started on your search of the library research databases:

During your search, you may encounter times when the full text (PDF or HTML) of an article is not available in the database.  Follow these steps to see how you may locate an electronic or print version of your article:

1. If PDF and HTML full text are unavailable, click in certain databases to locate print copies in Columbus State's library or electronic copies in another database, such as the Electronic Journal Center.
2. If you know the name of the journal in which the article appears, search the eResource Lookup to see if the journal is available online in one of the research databases.
3. If the article is not available at Columbus State's library or electronically through the research databases, search the OhioLINK catalog for print holdings at nearby college or university libraries. 

Proper spelling is critical when using a library database. A simple spelling error will cause your search terms not to be found.

Other Geography journals are listed in the Columbus State Community College catalog,   Some are in print, and many are available online.  For a list, click the link below.

Use the EBSCOhost search box to find articles. This box will search Academic Search Complete, Environment Complete, and SocINDEX.

Sample searches:

• GIS
• human geography
• water resources
• geomorphology
• climatology
• biogeography
• biodiversity
• land use
• cartography
• tectonics

You can also search by the names of continents, oceans, countries and other geographic areas.

Many more electronic journals covering geographic topies are available in the Electronic Journal Center.  You can find them by click on the link below.

Search the following research databases for articles from scholarly journals, magazines, and newspapers.  When accessing the research databases and journals from off-campus, you will need to sign in with your user name and password.