Library: PSY 1100: Introduction to Psychology: Find Articles

Databases for Psychology Research

Databases contain articles that come from journals, magazines, and newspapers. If you are off campus, you may need to sign in using your name and Cougar ID.

Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection
Index, abstracts, and full text covering topics such as emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry and psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational and experimental methods.
APA PsycINFO
PsycINFO is an electronic bibliographic database providing abstracts and citations to the scholarly literature in the psychological, social, behavioral, and health sciences. The database includes material of relevance to psychologists and professionals in related fields such as psychiatry, management, business, education, social science, neuroscience, law, medicine, and social work.
SocINDEX with Full Text
SocINDEX with Full Text is the world's most comprehensive and highest quality sociology research database. The database features more than 2.1 million records with subject headings from a 20,000+ term sociological thesaurus designed by subject experts and expert lexicographers.

The Database Doesn't Have Full Text for My Article. Now What?

During your search, you may encounter times when the full text (PDF or HTML) of an article is not available in the database. Follow these steps to see how you may locate an electronic or print version of your article:

If PDF and HTML full text are unavailable, click in certain databases to locate print copies in Columbus State's library or electronic copies in another database, such as the Electronic Journal Center.
If you know the name of the journal in which the article appears, search the eResource Lookup to see if the journal is available online in one of the research databases.
If the article is not available at Columbus State's library or electronically through the research databases, search the OhioLINK catalog for print holdings at nearby college or university libraries.

Psychology Journals

American Psychologist
American Psychologist is the official journal of the American Psychological Association and contains articles covering current issues in psychology, the science and practice of psychology, and psychology's contribution to public policy.

Asian American Journal of Psychology
The Asian American Journal of Psychology is the official publication of the Asian American Psychological Association and is dedicated to research, practice, advocacy, education, and policy within Asian American psychology.
Cultural Diversity & Ethnic Minority Psychology
Cultural Diversity & Ethnic Minority Psychology seeks to publish articles that promote the development of knowledge and understanding, application of psychological principles, and scholarly analysis of social–political forces affecting racial and ethnic minorities.
Professional Psychology: Research and Practice
Professional Psychology: Research and Practice publishes articles on the application of psychology, including the scientific underpinnings of the profession of psychology.
Training and Education in Professional Psychology
Training and Education in Professional Psychology is dedicated to enhancing supervision and training provided by psychologists.