Addiction Studies and Developmental Disabilities: Research Databases and Journals

Physical copies of these periodicals are available on the third floor of the library.  You can access our full list of print periodicals here.

The following databases deal specifically with health and social issues. Your topic may be covered in multiple databases; where available, you can click Choose Databases to search multiple databases simultaneously.

[Image description: Screenshot (detail) of the basic search screen in SocINDEX with Full Text, with an arrow pointing to the link that says "Choose Databases" immediately above the search bar.]

During your search, you may encounter times when the full text (PDF or HTML) of an article is not available in the database.  Follow these steps to see how you may locate an electronic or print version of your article:

1. If PDF and HTML full text are unavailable, click in certain databases to locate print copies in Columbus State's library or electronic copies in another database, such as the Electronic Journal Center.
2. If you know the name of the journal in which the article appears, search the eResource Lookup to see if the journal is available online in one of the research databases.
3. If the article is not available at Columbus State's library or electronically through the research databases, search the OhioLINK catalog for print holdings at nearby college or university libraries. 

Some databases default to specific search options. Familiarize yourself with keyword searching vs. subject searching in the search strategies section of The Research Process guide.

The library has electronic access to many scholarly journals; for more options, please explore our databases.