Selected List of Scholarly Journals
Leonardo Music Journal
This journal publishes the work of artists who are inventing media, implementing developing technologies and expanding the boundaries of radical and experimental aesthetics. - Leonardo.info
Computer Music Journal
A leading publication about computer music, concentrating fully on digital sound technology and all musical applications of computers. - MIT Press
Focuses on the impact which the application of technology is having upon music in a variety of genres, including multimedia, performance art, sound sculpture and music ranging from popular idioms to experimental electroacoustic composition. - Cambridge Journals Online
Perspectives of New Music
Publishes theoretical research, analyses, technical reports, position papers by composers, sociological and philosophical articles, interviews, reviews, and, for special purposes, short musical scores or other creative productions. - Perspectives of New Music Website
Contemporary Music Review
Investigates music in all its aspects--its techniques of performance and composition, aesthetics, technology and its relationship with other disciplines and currents of thought. - From Publisher
PMC offers a forum for commentary, criticism, and theory on subjects ranging from identity politics to the economics of information. - from Publisher
Journal of New Music Research
Draws on musicology (including music theory), philosophy, psychology, acoustics, computer science, engineering, and other disciplines. No bounds are placed on the music or musical behaviors at issue. Articles deal with theory, analysis, composition, performance, uses of music, instruments and other music technologies. - from publisher
Publishes articles on American composers, performers, publishers, institutions, events, and the music industry, as well as book and recording reviews, bibliographies, and discographies. - from publisher
The Database Doesn't Have Full Text for My Article. Now What?
During your search, you may encounter times when the full text (PDF or HTML) of an article is not available in the database. Follow these steps to see how you may locate an electronic or print version of your article:
- If PDF and HTML full text are unavailable, click in certain databases to locate print copies in Columbus State's library or electronic copies in another database, such as the Electronic Journal Center.
- If you know the name of the journal in which the article appears, search the eResource Lookup to see if the journal is available online in one of the research databases.
- If the article is not available at Columbus State's library or electronically through the research databases, search the OhioLINK catalog for print holdings at nearby college or university libraries.
Electronic Music Pioneer: Isao Tomita
[Electronic music composer Isao Tomita, posed with a custom synth array. Photo by Yasuhiro Ohara.]
Tomita, who passed away on May 6, 2016, was a Japanese composer of international renown. In the late 1960s, after exposure to work by Wendy Carlos and Robert Moog, he devoted himself to electronic music. His copious output includes film soundtracks, original art music, and reinterpretations of Western art music, as well as complex performance pieces such as his "Sound Cloud" concerts.
Improve Your Research With These Collections
Biography Reference Bank
Quickly and easily obtain biographical information on a composer or artist.
Electronic Journal Center
Search through more than 7000 scholarly journals for full-text articles on your research topic. Browse > Arts & Humanities > Fine & Performing Arts
Oxford Art Online
Provides access to Grove Art Online, The Oxford Companion to Western Art, Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, and The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms.
Art Full Text
Offers an international collection of peer-reviewed publications, including non-Western and contemporary art reviews and criticism.
Privacy & Confidentiality StatementLibrary Code of Conduct